DUCKMANTON PRIMARY SCHOOL

INFORMATION ABOUT OUR GOVERNANCE STRUCTURES

Introduction

In the interests of transparency, we are required by law to publish up to date information about our governance arrangements, under the headings set out below:

Structure and remit of the Governing board and committees and the names of the chair of each:

Our **Governing Board** was reconstituted to reduce the number of Governors on 4 April 2016 and is made up of a total of 7 Governors and 1 Associate Member as follows:

- Parent Governors x 2
- Co-opted Governors x 2
- Local Authority Governor x 1
- Staff Governor x 1
- Headteacher x1
- No vacancies
 - The Chair of the Governing Board is Sarah Scarborough
 - The Vice Chair of the Governing Board is Christopher Martin
 - The Clerk to the Governing Board is Debbie Parnham

The remit of the Governing Board is to:

- Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
- Hold the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff, and
- Oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent.

We also have in place the following Committees to support the work of the Governing Board:

Appraisal and Pay Policy Committee. Composition: At least three members of the Governing Board, excluding the Head and staff governors, and who may also be the nominated Appraisal Governors.

Updated July 2024

Version 9

Disciplinary (Staff) Appeal Committee. Composition: No less than three members of the Governing Board who are not disqualified by being members of staff or by having an interest requiring them to withdraw. The Headteacher may attend to give advice but may not vote. **Complaints Committee.** Composition: The committee will comprise of no members who were involved in the original decision which is the subject of appeal or who are in some way involved. The Headteacher may attend to give advice but may not vote.

Resource Committee - Chair appointed annually in the autumn term meeting. **Current chair Christopher Martin** Composition: A minimum of three members of the Governing Board.

Teaching and Learning Committee - Chair appointed annually in the autumn term meeting. **Current chair: Joel Beeden** Composition: A minimum of three members of the Governing Board.

GOVERNORS DETAILS (FOR EACH GOVERNOR WHO HAS SERVED AT ANY POINT OVER THE PAST 12 MONTHS) JULY 2024 - JULY 2025										
Name	Category	Date of appointment	Appointed by	Term of office (number of years and end date)	Date resigned	Committee membership	Responsibilities	Voting rights	Relevant business & pecuniary interests	
Chris Martin	Co-opted Vice-Chair	20.10.17	Staff	4 years Term of Office End date: 18.10.25	N/A	 ✓ Teaching and Learning ✓ Resources ✓ HTPM/Pay 	 Maths PE EYFS 	Yes	None declared	
Joel Beeden	Staff Governor	26.01.15	Staff	4 years Term of office end date: 11.02.27	N/A	 ✓ Teaching and Learning 	 Personal Development SMSC 	Yes	None Declared	
Emma Levers	Head teacher	NA	Ex-offico					Yes	Headteacher	
Sarah Scarborough	LA Governor Chair	17.10.18	Governing Board	1 year Term of office end date: 18.10.2024	N/A	 ✓ Teaching and Learning ✓ Resources ✓ HTPM/Pay 	 English Safeguarding Anti-bullying 	Yes	None Declared	

Version 9

Darran Barlow	Parent	05.07.21	Governing Board	4 years Term of office end date 05.07.2025	N/A	 ✓ Teaching and Learning 	 Science Mental Health/wellbeing 	Yes	None Declared
Michelle Lane	Co-opted	12.10.23	Governing Board	4 years Term of Office end date 12.10.27	N/A	✓ Resources	WebsiteGDPR	Yes	None Declared
Matthew Copestake	Parent	20.03.24	Parents	4 years Term of office end date 20.03.24	N/A		Health & SafetySEN	Yes	None Declared
Sarah Walker	Associate	12.10.23	Governing Board	N/A	N/A	✓ Resources	Finance	No	None Declared
The Governing Body is supported by Debbie Parnham - Clerk to Governors				N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	
NB Highlighted members above are no longer members of the Governing Board									

ATTENDANCE AT GOVERNING BOARD MEETINGS IN 2023/2024

Name	13.02.23 RCM	24.04.23 SFG	19.07.23 FGB	19.07.23 RCM	12.10.23 FGB	20.11.23 RCM	20.03.24 FGB	17.07.24 FGB
Emma Levers	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓
Christopher Martin	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓
Sarah Scarborough	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓
Joel Beeden		✓	✓		✓		 ✓ 	Α
Nicola Walker		✓	✓		Α		Α	

Updated July 2024

Version 9

Darran Barlow	✓	\checkmark	✓	✓		✓	✓
Michelle Lane				\checkmark	Α	Α	Α
Matthew Copestake						\checkmark	✓
Sarah Walker					~		Α